The Topless Tour: Mummelsee, Schwarzwald

Mainz2.jpg

Last year I posted a topless photo of my friend and I on instagram. It was completely PG rated with none of the raunchy connotations you’d expect from a statement with the words “topless” and “photo” in it. The weather conditions were not exactly in our favour. We were cold even with our clothes on, let alone without. But we braved the cold and did it anyway. Why? Because women are beautiful creatures that deserve appreciation, not sexual objectification.

There’s nothing I hate more than when someone tells me that I should or should not dress or act in a certain way because it will warrant certain reactions. The worst part of it is that most of the time the people telling me do so, do so with the best of intentions. We have been conditioned to believe that women consist of a vagina and a set of breasts, but we are so so much more. Sure, sometimes I dress or act a certain way that would conventionally impress men. But newsflash, I do so because I want to. Not because I should. Just because I’m wearing a mini skirt, you cannot assume that I am a ‘slut’. Just because I’m wearing a midi length skirt, you cannot assume that I am a ‘prude’. Women have the right to choose what they wear. Women are more than the clothes they are wearing on their bodies.

I recently saw an illustration that dealt with the fine line between sexual empowerment and sexual objectification. You can find the illustration here. If you’ve got a spare moment I would really recommend you give the whole thing a read. If you’re a little short of time, this is the basic summary:

There’s a long-standing debate in feminism about sexual empowerment: How do we know when someone is being sexually liberated versus being sexually objectified, since they sometimes can look similar from the outside?

Well, the answer is simpler than you think: The difference is in who has the power.

So this is why we decided to brave the cold and join the topless tour. We felt free, beautiful and powerful.

2015.05.07

The Topless Tour: Uniting people across the globe to feel the freedom and share their beauty with the world.

Get Involved: Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

fish lavender

Brigfish

Leave a Reply

